You are here
Home >

NA 56 Rawalpindi VII Party Position 2013 Elections (1 post)

Topic tags: candidates na 56 rawalpindi, imran khan vs hanif abbasi na 56, na 56 pti, na 56 rawalpindi 2013 election, na 56 rawalpindi party position, pmln na 56, ppp na 56, pti na 56, rawalpindi politics
  • Profile picture of Farah Farah said 3 years, 3 months ago:

    NA 56 Constituency of District Rawalpindi is considered a stronghold of PML-N. All provincial assembly seats under NA 56 are also won by PML-N candidate. PP 13 and PP 14 are the two provincial assembly seats that lie in NA 56 premises. Other than PML-N, Jamat e Islami also enjoys a good public support here. PPP though failed to win this seat in past two elections, does have a good organization at grass root level and its candidates have always got a handsome number of votes. PTI has also emerged as another political option for the people of NA 56 though it lacks any big name in the constituency.


    NA 56 Rawalpindi 2002 Election Results:
    In 2002 elections, Sheikh Rasheed Ahmad was able to win NA 56 seat as an independent candidate. However, he later joined PML-Q and remained in PML-Q for the whole tenure and then formed his own political party–Awami Muslim League. PML-N candidate failed to be even in the top three for this election.

    Complete Result of NA 56 for 2002 Elections are given below:

    Sheikh Rasheed Ahmad (Independent)                           30951 Votes

    Sardar Shoukat Hayat (PPP)                                               19888 Votes

    Dr Muhammad Afzal Azaz (MMA)                                        12540 Votes

    Syed Zafar Ali Shah (PML-N)                                              11441 Votes

    Nilofar Bakhtiar (PML-Q)                                                      3667 Votes

    Aamer Mahmood Kiani (PTI)                                              3182 Votes

    Sajjad Haider Qadri (Sunni Tehreek)                               450 Votes


    NA 56 Rawalpindi 2008 Election Result:

    Muhammad Hanif Abbasi who was a Jamat e Islami leader left JI and joined PML-N and was allotted PML-N ticket for NA 56 in 2008 elections and was able to beat Sheikh Rasheed Ahmad and other competitors by a huge margin.

    Complete result of NA 56 for 2008 elections is given below:

    Muhammad Hanif Abbasi (PML-N)                           73433 Votes

    Sardar Shokat Hayat Advocate (PPP)                       22720 Votes

    Sheikh Rasheed Ahmad (PML-Q)                            10964 Votes

    Muhammad Zubair Kiani (MMA)                                213 Votes


    NA 56 Rawalpindi Party Position For 2013 Elections:

    PML-N looks to be the strongest party in NA 56 Rawalpindi for upcoming general elections and Hanif Abbasi and other PML-N leaders are working hard in the region. Renowned social figure Dr Jamal Nasir (Owner of City Labs) has also joined PML-N and is quiteimran khan vs hanif abbasi na 56 rawalpindi 2013 election active. PML-N has done many major development projects in Rawalpindi including Murree Road fly over and PML-N will be definitely asking people to vote for them on the performance basis. Hanif Abbasi who is PMLN candidate from here is on ground and having corner meetings in each and every region of the constituency. Major focus of his campaign is anti-PTI statements and he is attacking PTI Chairman Imran Khan directly.

    PTI Chairman Imran Khan himself is contesting from NA 56 Rawalpindi. Campaign of PTI is in full swing. PTI workers and local leaders are also active in NA 56 Rawalpindi. Tabdeel Razakars of PTI are having door to door campaign across constituency.  Car rallies are also taking place by PTI leadership. Chaudhry Asghar on PP 14, Arif Abbasi on PP 13 are also quite active in the campaign. Ex MPA Fiaz Ul Hasan Chohan is now in PTI and he is also having aggressive campaign of PTI for NA 56. Fiaz Ul Hasan Chohan is always found very aggressive against Hanif Abbasi of PML-N.

    Sheikh Rasheed Ahmad failed very badly in 2008 contest due to Laal Masjid issue but his significance in the politics of Rawalpindi can’t be undermined. Sheikh Rasheed’s party Awami Muslim League has announced support for PTI Candidate Imran Khan in NA 56 Rawalpindi.

    Jamat e Islami has already announced Raza Ahmad Shah as their candidate for NA 56. However if JI opts for a seat adjustment with PML-N, chances are that Raza Ahmad Shah will have to back off.

    PPP has given its NA 56 Ticket to Israr Abbasi who is campaigning along with ppp PP 14 Candidate Raja Kamran. PPP doesn’t seem to be in a position to win this seat. However, PPP local leader Rashid Naseem Abbasi who contests provincial assembly election from PP 14 is very popular and active in the region.