You are here
Home >

NA 18 Abbottabad II Party Position 2013 Election (1 post)

Topic tags: baba haider zaman na 18, na 18 abbottabad, na 18 abbottabad 2013 elections, na 18 election result, na 18 party position, na 18 pti position, na 18 soba hazara, pmln na 18
  • Profile picture of Farah Farah said 3 years, 4 months ago:

    NA 18 Abbottabad is considered as a constituency of Muslim League dominance from where, PML-N Chief Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif has also been elected in past. NA 18 Abbttabad constituency mainly consists of two clans–A

    bbasi and Karlal and this clan factor also plays a key role in the election results of NA 18.


    wever, political climate of NA 18 has greatly changed now and many other factors have become prominent and several other political forces have also strengthened their roots in this constituency.

    NA 18 Abbottabad Election Result 2002 Elections:

    In 2002 general elections, there was a very tough competition between PML-Q and PML-N candidate in NA 18 and PML-Q candidate Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Khan was able to win the seat by a narrow margin. Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob served as deputy speaker of national assembly in PML-Q government.


    Complete result of NA-18 Abbttabad II for 2002 elections is given below:

    Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob (PML-Q)                      36826 Votes

    Murtaza Javed Abbasi (PML-N)                                 32527 Votes

    Nawabzada Jehangir Tanoli (Independent)           19784 Votes

    Qari Syed Abdur Rahim Shah (MMA)                       13017 Votes

    Qazi Muhammad Azhar (National Alliance)            6145 Votes

    Muhammad Aurangzeb Chaudhry (PAT)                 3516 Votes


    NA 18 Abbottabad II Election Result 2008 Elections:

    In 2008 general elections, PML-N was able to regain NA 18 Seat with a huge margin. Turn out remained 44.5 percent.


    Complete result of 2008 elections for NA 18 is given below:

    Murtaza Javed Abbasi (PML-N)                               72586 Votes

    Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob (PML-Q)                    35480 Votes

    Chaudhry Faisal Zulfiqar Ali (Independent)         18146 Votes

    Sardar Muhammad Riaz Khan (Independent)     8209 Votes

    Sardar Mushtaq Ahmad (PPP)                                5992 Votes

    Qazi Azhar Advocate (PPP-Sherpao)                     3794 Votes


    NA 18 Abbottabad Party Position for 2013 Elections:

    Political atmosphere of NA 18 has greatly changed in the last couple of years. Two factors have brought a major political change in Abbottabad NA 18 region.

    PTI emergence as a new political force.
    Soba Hazara Movement after renaming of NWFP to KPK.

    Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob, who won 2002 elections on PML-Q ticket and was runner up of 2008 elections, has joined PTI. Sardar Muhammad Idrees, who served as provincial minister for Baldiat for NWFP during MMA government, has also joined PTI. Sardar Yaqoob and Sardar Idrees, both are prominent political personalities of NA 18 region and their joining has given a big boost to PTI. Sikandar Azam Khan–another key political personality of Tehsil Havelian, district Abbottabad has joined PTI. If PTI tickets for NA 18 and associated provincial assembly seats are allotted to strong candidates in a wise manner without any emergence of differences, PTI can win NA 18 seat and can break the fort of PML-N.

    Tehreek-e-Soba Hazara Chief Baba Haider Zaman also belongs to NA 18 and his importance in upcoming 2013 elections can’t be overlooked. Baba Haider Zaman has registered his own political party with the name of “Tehreek-e-Sooba Hazara” which speaks for a separate province for the people of Hazara division. In the last two years, this Soba Hazara movement has seen a great rise and Baba has enjoyed a huge public support particularly in NA 18 region. However, now Soba Hazara movement has lost the strength after separation of many of its leaders from Baba Haider Zaman. However, if Baba Haider Zaman contests election from NA 18, he is supposed to give a tough contest to PML-N and PTI candidates.

    PML-N is very much confident on the other hand to defend the constituency. There are also rumors that Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif himself may contest from NA 18 against Baba Haider Zaman and PTI candidate. If Nawaz Sharif contests from NA 18, it will become very difficult for any one to defeat him.

    Jamat-e-Islami doesn’t have any strong candidate in NA 18 Abbottabad and it seems that they won’t be able to give any surprise at this seat. However, at provincial assembly seat of PK-48, Abdur Razaq Abbasi of JI is a strong candidate and its expected that JI will bargain with some political party for a support in NA 18 seat with condition of provincial assembly support.