You are here
Home >

NA 17 Abbottabad I Party Position 2013 Elections (4 posts)

Topic tags: abbottabad politics, na 17 2013 election, na 17 abbottabad, na 17 election result, na 17 party position, pmln na 17, pti na 17, sardar mehtab na 17
  • Profile picture of Farah Farah said 3 years, 4 months ago:

    NA 17 Abbottabad I is considered as a stronghold of PML-N. Abbottabad district has been considered as a fort of Muslim League for decades. MNA from NA 17, Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan Abbasi has served as Chief Minister of NWFP.

    NA-17 Abbottabad Election Result 2002 Elections:

    In 2002, political atmosphere in NA 17 Abbottabad was very different after departure of PML-N chief Mian Nawaz Sharif to Jeddah and arrest of many of the key political leaders of PML-N, including Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan. PML-Q, under the supervision of General Pervez Musharraf was in a stronger position and managed to win NA 17 Abbottabad Seat. Turn out in NA 17 remained 39.6 percent in 2002 elections.


    Complete result of NA 17 Abbottabad for 2002 Election is given below:

    Aman Ullah Khan Jadoon (PML-Q)                                44716 Votes

    Dr. Azhar Khan Jadoon (Independent)                          30949 Votes

    Al-Haj Habib Ur Rehman Abbasi (JI)                             21383 Votes

    Ali Asghar Khan (Qaumi Jamhori Party)                       4687 Votes

    Sardar Ibrar Ahmad (PPP)                                              3646 Votes

    Asif Malik Advocate (Hazara Qaumi Mahaz)                3384 Votes


    NA 17 Abbottabad I Election Result 2008 Elections:

    In 2008 elections, Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan Abbasi of PML-N managed to win NA 17 seat with a huge margin. Jamat e Islami and PTI were in boycott in 2008 elections. Turn out in 2008 elections remained 42.8 percent.


    Complete result of NA 17 Abbottabad I election for 2008 elections is given below:

    Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan (PML-N)                          58041 Votes

    Dr Azhar Khan Jadoon (Independent)                          36668 Votes

    Aman Ullah Khan Jadoon (PML-Q)                              34947 Votes

    Professor Raja Aurangzeb Khan (MMA)                      1465 Votes

    Ghulam Mustafa Qureshi (MQM)                                   589 Votes


    NA 17 Abbottabad Party Position for 2013 Elections:

    PTI has emerged as a strong force in NA 17 Abbottabad and has become a serious threat for Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan. Dr Muhammad Azhar Khan Jadoon, who got over 36 thousand votes in 2008 elections and over 30 thousand votes in 2002 elections as independent candidate, has joined PTI and is a potential candidate for NA 17 on PTI ticket. Ali Asghar Khan, who is currently serving as Senior Vice President of PTI, also belongs to NA 17 and is also a potential candidate. For PTI, decision of ticket will be very significant and if PTI gives ticket to a stronger candidate, NA 17 seat can be won by PTI.

    PML-N popularity in Hazara division badly dropped due to renaming of NWFP to Khyber Pakhtunkhwah and anti-PML-N sentiments went to a peak in 2011 but now, it seems that wave of Soba Hazara have gone down and PML-N has managed to get public support again. Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan has a strong vote bank and it will be difficult for divided opposition to break the fort of Sardar Mehtab.

    Jamat e Islami is also a well known political force of NA 17 Abbottabad and role fo JI can’t be overlooked. JI candidate Alhaj Habib Ur Rehman Abbasi got over 21 thousand votes in 2002 elections. He will be Jamat e Islami candidate from NA 17 in 2013 elections. Jamat-e-Islami will not be in a position to win NA 17 seat, but JI candidate Habib Ur Rehman Abbasi can greatly dent the vote bank of Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan in Abbasi belt which may be beneficial for other parties.

    Aman Ullah Khan Jadoon is expected candidate of PML-Q but he doesn’t enjoy a good reputation. Aman Ullah Khan Jadoon’s son, Ali Khan Jadoon joined PTI last year which makes the situation a bit funny and interesting.

  • Profile picture of Arif Hussain Arif Hussain said 3 years, 4 months ago:

    Very interesting.

  • Profile picture of Farah Farah said 3 years, 3 months ago:

    Here is a very interesting report in Daily Nai Baat about political situation of NA 17 Abbottabad for election 2013.

  • Profile picture of Farah Farah said 3 years, 1 month ago:

    NA 17 Abbottabad Election Campaign is in full swing from all parties and a tough contest is expected between PML-N Candidate Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan, and PTI Candidate Dr Muhammad Azhar Jadoon.

    Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan had a huge rally at Sabzi Mandi Islamabad where people from many villages and towns of PK 45 Abbottabad gathered. PTI and JI leaders and workers claimed that It was a flop show of Sardar Mehtab and he gathered laborers from Sabzi Mandi Islamabad to fill the space.

    Dr Muhammad Azhar Jadoon is also very active in NA 17 and is arranging corner meetings and joining ceremonies in all regions including UC Palak which is home UC of Sardar Mehtab. Dr Muhammad Azhar Jadoon is accompanied by other PTI leaders like Abdur Rehman Abbasi who is candidate from PK 45, Sajjad Akbar Khan who is candidate from PK 46, Asif Zubari Shaikh Candidate from PK 44 and Raja Mubeen Ur Rehman Abbasi who was runner up in party’s district president election and was ex-Organizer Hazara division. However, PTI elected organization of Abbottabad seems angry on tickets issue as they were demanding national assembly ticket for Ali Asghar Khan and PK 45 ticket for Nazir Ahmad Abbasi. Nazir Abbasi is expected to contest as independent candidate in which case, it may divide PTI’s vote bank.

    Habib Ur Rehman Abbasi who is Jamat e Islami candidate from NA 17 is also quite active on the ground along with Saeed Ahmad Abbasi who is JI candidate from PK 45.